Columbia University Medical Center
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital The University Hospital of Columbia and Cornell

Public Psychiatry Fellowship



Now in its twenty-seventh year, the Public Psychiatry Fellowship of New York State Psychiatric Institute at Columbia University Medical Center was initiated in 1981 with funds from the New York State Office of Mental Health (OMH). OMH's goal was to facilitate recruitment and retention of high caliber psychiatrists in the public sector. Ten one-year Fellowships are awarded to young psychiatrists desiring a career in public psychiatry. Fellows spend three days a week working in a community- or hospital-based public mental health service organization selected as a placement site and two days a week in seminars, supervision and consultation with the Fellowship faculty.

Core Faculty

Jules Ranz, MD, Director - e-mail:
Susan Deakins, MD, Associate Director - e-mail:
Stephen Rosenheck, PhD - e-mail:
Sara Kellermann, MD


Candidates for the Fellowship must have completed an accredited residency program in psychiatry or child psychiatry. In addition, the candidate must have, or be eligible to obtain, a New York State Medical License prior to entry into the program. Of primary importance in the selection process will be the candidate's demonstrated interest in public mental health issues, especially those concerned with achieving better care for poor and otherwise disadvantaged adults with severe and persistent mental illness. Other factors considered in the selection process include the candidate's interest and ability in a) working as part of an interdisciplinary team, b) psychiatric leadership, c) internal program evaluation and d) other academic endeavors. The selection committee complies with the intent of the Affirmative Action Program and the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact Information:

Jules, M. Ranz, M.D
New York State Psychiatric Institute
1051 Riverside Drive, Unit 111
New York, New York 10032

Dr. Ranz can also be contacted by telephone (212-543-5655)
or e-mail (


hora interior